Tuesday day 10: flat to the coast. 97km 290m

Bike at the coast

After the transfer last night, and a late supper, we woke to find ourselves on the flat vast expanse that lies between the mountains and the coast, basically already at sea level. After a fairly good breakfast, we transferred again for about 40 mins to cut down the riding on the flat hot area. Before we set off I changed the batteries in my garmin pedals as they appeared to stop working yesterday afternoon.

Bike faff

Yet again the group set off at a rapid pace. I got spat out of the back of the little peloton quite quickly as I could only manage around 30km/hr and working at tempo to threshold level, which is not sustainable for 100km, at least not for me, in this heat and humidity. The landscape was extremely flat going across wetlands full of interesting bird life and it was actually more interesting to take in the views rather that sit on the back of a wheel pedalling as fast as possible. I didn’t get many photos though as there was no ride brief as we set off and no gpx file for this mornings first half of route, so I didn’t want to get too far off the back as I didn’t have any directions as to where we were going. Fortunately as usual, Oscar, our driver in the bike pickup truck, was sitting off the back so I knew he would keep an eye on me. I did catch up though when they stopped with a puncture. We have swapped the trucks and buses for quieter roads but with dreadful potholes and gravel sections. One section for 14km before drinks stop was particularly bad, only just rideable on a carbon road bike.

Milk man on his phone
Pretty church

After drinks stop, the group pushed on again. We had to stop for a huge wide load of three trucks with electrical generators on. They were moving so slowly they had take 4 weeks to get to this point from Cartegena. After, I just rode at a comfy pace. We regrouped after a while, and yet another puncture slowed up one of the quicker riders. Not a lot to say about this ride today, flat, hot and fast for the most part. Even being the slowest today I set 4 Strava ladies top 10 times (cups) in the early part of the day, we arrived on the Caribbean coast (again, no stopping for photos, keep pedalling!) and then about 10km later we got into our town Tolu for the night stop at about 1330. After a late lunch there was time to potter along the front by the beach. It seems very touristy with lots of street sellers with junk bric-à-brac to try to part you with your money for.

The Caribbean

Tomorrow is another long flat day. I think we saw the best of Colombia in the mountains, and it’s a case of just buckling down now and riding out this last day to Cartegena.

Drivers cleaning the bikes at the end of the day

Leave a comment